On the Workbench

So, I’ve been ‘working’ fairly hard on my WW2 skirmish stuff. I have a baker’s dozen of Panzergrenadiers completed, and have been scratchbuilding a 2 story farmhouse.

Two Story Farmhouse and Silvered Decals

Two Story Farmhouse and Silvered Decals

Construction of the house is foamcore (1/4″), basswood (for the floors), embossed plasticard for the stone wainscot, tile adhesive for the stucco, and scribed plasticard for the shutters and other details.

It's impossible to tell, but the basswood floor was scribed and stained. Not particularly effective.

It’s impossible to tell, but the basswood floor was scribed and stained. Not particularly effective.

I spent some time scribing the basswood floor with an X-acto knife and then did an ink wash, hoping it would pick up the detail. It looked great when wet, but there’s hardly a hint of the planks after everything dried.

Watch out for that MG-42...

Watch out for that MG-42…

I lament my inability to get my germans to look anything other than dull dull dull.

The little farmhouse design is from a building I found in Trimble Sketchup’s 3d warehouse, which is a repository of 3d models. I exported elevation views of the computer model, scaled them, printed them out, and used them as templates for cutting the foamcore. I’ve built it up from there.

I know a typical Normandy farmhouse would most likely be 100% native stone, but I was really in no mood for scribing that much foamcore, and the model railroad stonework I was able to find locally was not of the right scale. In fact, the stone wainscot that IS there is HO scale brick that I’ve scuffed up in hopes that it will look like stone when painted.

The building still needs another coat of stucco to conceal the foamcore edge lines, a couple of interior partition walls to help hold up the roof. And a roof. Which will be the most labor intensive part.

We’ll see how she paints up in a few days. Well, maybe weeks.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Anibal Invictus  On 07/22/2013 at 8:03 am

    Looking good! Eager to see the final work

    • arkiegamer  On 07/22/2013 at 8:20 am

      Thank you, sir. I’m hoping to have terrain and forces ready for the release of Chain of Command. I have some way to go, yet.

  • tinpotrevolutionary  On 07/23/2013 at 3:36 pm

    Very nicely done!

    • arkiegamer  On 07/23/2013 at 5:57 pm

      Thanks, man. You know, your blog doesn’t show up in my WordPress reader feed, for some reason. I wonder if it’s something I’ve done, or if it’s on your end.

      • tinpotrevolutionary  On 07/24/2013 at 2:43 pm

        I’ve no idea what the problem could be there, I do have a bad habit of continuing to edit them after they have been posted, I don’t know if that screws it up.

    • arkiegamer  On 07/24/2013 at 2:51 pm

      I hope not, as I do that too! I unsubscribed and re-subscribed. Maybe that will fix it.

You know what to do