Tumbling Tumbleweeds…

Hello anyone still following this decrepit dusty old blog!

I’ve been super busy with all sorts of non-wargaming things for the bulk of this year, but recently I’ve been studying for architecture exams, which involves me listening/watching online lectures and taking notes whenever the talking head behind the videos says something interesting.

There are hundreds of hours of these videos, but the positive side of that (other than me becoming a licensed architect) is that painting miniatures is the perfect accompanying activity to consuming the lectures. I have lots of time for painting.

I’m going to be concentrating on finishing up a couple of projects that I started long ago, namely 28mm Napoleonic skirmish forces, and some 15mm WWII. I will try to blog, occasionally, but I’m also giving Twitter a shot. If it proves to be more convenient/engaging, this blog may go (even more!) dormant. If you’re on Twitter, and think you might be interested, I can be found at @arkiegamer.

Here are a couple of shaky, badly lit smartphone camera photos, just to re-break the ice on this hoary collection of bits. Nothing but quality for my dear readers!

FullSizeRender-2

M8 Greyhound. I somehow managed to lose the AA MG off the back during the two years this thing rattled around in a random plastic bin. I think I’m going to try to keep my vehicle painting for this project fairly clean, with no weathering. This scout car was simply block painted in base colors, decaled, sealed with Future Floor Wax, and then I applied a filter and wash of oil paints. The oils add complexity, shading,  and a certain luster to the base colors. I like the look of it, anyway.

FullSizeRender-1

M8 Greyhound as seen from a descending artillery shell. This is a Battlefront model. 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Russell Pennington  On 09/02/2017 at 7:23 am

    I read your blog every time you publish one! I love to read about what other gamers are doing and see their finished miniatures. Keep em coming! Who knows but that someday we might actually get to meet! I mean I’m just up the road in Rogers!

    • arkiegamer  On 09/02/2017 at 8:00 am

      Thanks, Russell. I didn’t know (or have forgotten!) that you’re in Rogers! What sort of gaming do you do?

  • tinpotrevolutionary  On 09/02/2017 at 10:58 am

    You’re not gonna force me to join the twitterverse so I can keep up with your hobby exploits are you?! ;)

    I’ve gotta get back on the blogging wagon myself, I’ve been steadily painting everything within reach but have been lax with photographing them!

    • arkiegamer  On 09/02/2017 at 11:07 am

      Well, I thought twitter might be a good way to stay in the loop, without the time and effort involved in writing blog posts. Even ones as half-assed as this!

      I’ve been painting a lot, too, but not photographing and publishing said photographs.

      • tinpotrevolutionary  On 09/02/2017 at 12:32 pm

        I’ll do it (only because it’s you though)

        It can be hard to keep up with blogs when real life rears its ugly head, especially when platforms like Twitter and Facebook can be so much easier and more immediate. Have you thought about Snapchat? my missus is on that all the bloody time!!

      • arkiegamer  On 09/02/2017 at 4:25 pm

        Ha! Sorry to lite you into another form of social media!

        I’ve not used Snapchat, but use Instagram quite a bit. Though not for gaming stuff.

  • arkiegamer  On 09/02/2017 at 11:08 am

    Maybe I’ll do a mixture. Snaps of figs on twitter, more substantive posts here on the blog.

  • Gary States  On 09/02/2017 at 11:29 pm

    If you’re free September 9th and want to play a game of Lasalle with us at Top Deck in Tulsa, let me know. We will be doing a small battle in the Peninsula at about noon. It will be just fine if you’re a novice with the rules, we’ll go through it slowly. Just let me know.

  • Sparker  On 09/03/2017 at 4:53 pm

    Thanks for thought provoking painting tips. I hope the blog continues, I certainly like to read it although I don’t always feel moved to comment!

    Good luck with the course!

    • arkiegamer  On 09/03/2017 at 10:44 pm

      Thank you, sir. I think I’ll use the blog will stick around for more substantive posts…tutorials, AARs, and major project milestones.

  • dave2718  On 09/03/2017 at 10:39 pm

    good luck with the study. I’d not thought of combining lectures with painting, I might have to enroll in a course?

  • Frank  On 09/19/2017 at 9:34 pm

    Good luck with the architecture exams, Tim.

    • arkiegamer  On 09/19/2017 at 9:54 pm

      Thanks, Frank – I’m halfway through, only 3 more to go. How have you been?

      • Frank  On 09/22/2017 at 10:57 pm

        Things are fine, thanks for asking. I now have a granddaughter, Claire, born in July. For that reason and others, painting figs has been really slow this summer, and I haven’t had a game in a while – but I’m optimistic that’s about to change!

        How about yourself, other than testing? Gamed with Grady and company much?

      • arkiegamer  On 09/23/2017 at 8:31 am

        Hey, congratulations! That’s fantastic news! I think we can forgive some slowness in painting figures under those circumstances.

        No, I haven’t played with Grady and crew in a very long time. I need to change that.

  • The model warrior  On 10/05/2017 at 6:51 am

    Very nice looking sir and the weathering looks excellent.

You know what to do

