Hello, 2017

Hello all. It’s been a good while since the last post!

It’s been my tradition to do an end-of-the-year recap of my hobby activities, as well as some sort of projection/prognostication about what will happen in the coming year. Well, I’m going to keep it short and sweet:

2016 was a mediocre-to-bad hobby year. 1st world problems, right? !

2017 will be better. I’m not forecasting much activity on the historical miniatures front this year. I haven’t heard from my regular opponent in quite some time, so the Lasalle project is on hold for now. Who knows, he may pop back up, and things might take off again.

The one hobbyriffic bright spot from 2016 is that I’ve been playing quite a bit of good old D&D with a couple of groups of friends. For now, I’m going to concentrate my efforts in that area. Tangentially included in said efforts will be some sort of elaborate 36″x36″ terrain board for Song of Blades and Heroes. I plan to start that project very soon!

So, that’s the plan. I hope the new year finds you all well. I’ll close this out with photos of recent work, all in 28mm…

fantasy-3

Mr. Rocklobber and Goblin Companions. These are all Red Box Minis. The troll/ogre fellow is a resin casting. Rocklobber is my first large(ish) monster figure, and was a blast to paint. I’m going to try and do more things of that sort in the future. Notice the long braided scalp on the front goblin’s spear? Yikes! I think he’s supposed to be the mastermind of this bunch. Pot of sky blue paint shown for scale.

fantasy-4

The entire Goblin warband. The guys with spears in the back were painted a looooong time ago. It’s nice to have finally finished up the collection.

fantasy-5

The heroes. Some are new to the blog, some are not.  I’ll break these down into logical groups, and get some closeup shots. The vast majority of these minis are Red Box, sculpted (and sold) by Tre Manor.

fantasy-6

The elves. The middle figure is a de Terlizzi masterwork mini, sculpted by Tom Meier. The other two are Red Box. I think these have all made an appearance on my site before, but here they are again!

fantasy-7

The wee folk, plus Gus the mule. The humanoids are all Red Box minis. The pack mule is a Warlord figure from their ancient Romans line. They use Pilum in fantasy settings, right?! And no, I’m not insinuating the shorties are jackasses by association. I need more halflings in my collection.

fantasy-8

A couple of human casters. Both are Red Box. The fellow on the left is new, and might function as a druid, or some sort of hedge wizard. The fellow on the right has been seen on this page before. He’s seen quite a bit of use, and is looking a little worse for the wear. His robes were inspired by Jimmy Page’s Zoso outfit.

fantasy-9

Various humans from Red Box minis. I think these three have all been seen on the blog before. The fellow on the left is Ivan Brown-cup, my 5th level Cleric of Chauntea. Man, that’s nerdy!

fantasy-10

A couple more humans from Red Box. The fellow on the left is new to the site.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • daggerandbrush  On 01/15/2017 at 4:49 pm

    Excellent work on all accounts. I am partial to the spell casters and the big Ogre. Really love the skintone on the big guy. The freehand on the spellcaster’s robe is also very well done. What I especially like is that uniform look you achieved in the group shot. They all can be identified as your work and share colours and obviously the style of painting. As Fantasy miniatures were my first love I really look forward to your next batch and that terrain board should be stunning, too.

    • arkiegamer  On 01/15/2017 at 7:17 pm

      Thanks a lot! I’m glad you liked the figs. I think that ogre may be my favorite thing I’ve ever painted. I’m working on a couple of worgs and accompanying wolf pack at the moment, and the fur is giving me fits.

      I’m quite certain I’ll be stealing some of your techniques for this board!

      • daggerandbrush  On 01/16/2017 at 1:34 am

        Feel free to do so, that is the point of the blog after all ;). Any specific tut wishes for the board that may come in handy?

      • arkiegamer  On 01/16/2017 at 6:57 am

        Well, the main feature of the board is going to be a ruined tower bridge, but I have a picture in my head of a nearby ruin that’s even older…maybe some low rubble walls surrounding a floor that has a mosaic tile floor depicting a medusa, or some such. Something almost Pompeiian in appearance.

        I’m thinking that printing something out in color, and then distressing it, and using pastels for weathering might be the way to go, but I’m curious if you have any ideas.

      • daggerandbrush  On 01/16/2017 at 5:41 pm

        I think a print-out should work well. You could also make a press mold depicting the mosaic stones and then paint the medusa on it. I am not sure if it will look better than the print out, so maybe try that first. I remember somebody did that for the roof of some near east buildings. I see if I can find it and send you the link as inspiration.
        I intend to fashion a submerged tower Skyrim style this year. Less Pompeiian, but more medieval as part of the D&D gaming board I am working on. So I would say there should be something of use for you.

      • arkiegamer  On 01/16/2017 at 10:11 pm

        Oh, man, this submerged tower sounds like a fantastic project!

        At 28mm scale, I’m guessing the print will be pretty convincing (and not too much work).

      • daggerandbrush  On 01/16/2017 at 10:21 pm

        Here we go: http://ekimdj-minis.blogspot.co.nz/2014/06/15mm-wustendorf-fur-tabletop.html

        He uses transfer medium to get the laser print onto the roof of his houses. That could work very well for your project, too.
        The submerged tower should be a fun project. I will try to make it a multilevel board, so that one can remove the tower and get to the interior, which then could lead into a dungeon, but I have to see how it works.

      • arkiegamer  On 01/16/2017 at 10:24 pm

        Thanks for the link – that looks like the perfect technique for my mosaic floor.

        My towers will be removable, as well, but I’ll only be revealing a basement of the same dimension as the tower, not a dungeon, which will be less of a challenge.

  • dcminiaturespainting  On 01/15/2017 at 7:08 pm

    That’s some very nice looking figs

  • imperialrebelork  On 01/16/2017 at 12:01 am

    Wow! Great minis. Paintwork is exceptional.

  • The model warrior  On 01/16/2017 at 6:16 am

    Lovely paint job sir. I to have recently got back into D & D and also the new Conan the Barbarian board game so it’s going to be 28mm 2017. Keep up the good work.

    • arkiegamer  On 01/16/2017 at 6:53 am

      Thanks! I was just looking at the new Conan board game. Looks like there are some fantastic figures in there.

  • Frank  On 01/20/2017 at 9:11 pm

    Goodness – from those pictures, I would’ve guessed you’ve been busy! Here’s hoping to see you at the game table in 2017, at Grady’s or otherwise!

    • arkiegamer  On 01/23/2017 at 9:46 am

      It’s the illusion of busyness, Frank! I’m sure we’ll get at least one game in this year.

  • tinpotrevolutionary  On 02/04/2017 at 6:36 am

    Fantastic painting Mr. Arkie!!! The goblins and troll look fantastic! I must say that I think 2016 was somewhat of a bust for all, good by and good riddance I say! Great to see you’re still hobbying though, I think allowing your hobby to evolve and change with time and circumstances is the best way to keep it alive and kicking.

You know what to do

