Cacadores the 1st

3rd-cacadores-4

1st Cacadores in line. No skirmishers.

With unparalleled swiftness (unparalleled by myself, anyway), I’ve completed another battalion for the Lasalle project. Ladies and gents, the 1st Cacadores. This is a four base unit (24 figures) with a couple of skirmish bases. Much like the 3rd Cacadores, they are very brown. And black. With a dash of light blue.

3rd-cacadores

The 1st, with skirmishers out.

This battalion of Portuguese lights completes the core brigade of my Lasalle division. Well, sort of. I’m supposed to have two more battalions when on the offense, and support brigades can be added to flesh the division out.

My additional on-the-attack battalions will be red-coated regulars, if for no other reason than it will put more flags on the table. I may do a brigade of light dragoons for my first support force, but I’m also tempted to do a brigade of Portuguese regulars in their sweet barrentina headwear. Decisions, decisions.

In any case, here’s the infantry portion of the core brigade. The artillery is beyond the hills, still advancing into position.

3rd-cacadores-8

From left to right…52nd Oxfordshire, 43rd Monmouthshire, 3rd Caçadores, 95th Rifles, 1st Caçadores.

1stcacadoresky

Now with Photoshopped sky!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sparker  On 09/11/2016 at 4:46 pm

    Thanks for sharing your lovely photos of a great force – you must be very pleased!

    • arkiegamer  On 09/11/2016 at 5:30 pm

      Thank you very much-glad you liked them. I am very pleased, but I have a long way to go before I have a fully fleshed out division. By the way, I do look at your blog from time to time, but have some sort of bizarre technical problem that prevents me from commenting on blogspot pages. It’s very frustrating!

  • Gary States  On 09/12/2016 at 10:37 am

    Great figures & terrain. I’m in Muskogee and play in Tulsa using Lasalle. Do you ever go to Tulsa and game? Tulsa is going to be the home of ManeuversCon in August 2017. If you want to contact me about details or gaming you can reach me at: gcstates2006@gmail.com.

    • arkiegamer  On 09/12/2016 at 11:18 am

      Hey Gary. I’ve never played over in Tulsa, but it’s certainly a possibility. I could use some tutelage in Lasalle sometime in the next couple of months!

      I’ll save your email. Are you going over to Recruits this year?

      • Gary States  On 09/12/2016 at 3:37 pm

        No, won’t be able to make recruits, too much going on for me this month. The next convention I intend to be at will be Twistercon in OKC, but that will be in March of next year. I may try to run another Lasalle game and could always use more players.

      • arkiegamer  On 09/12/2016 at 3:58 pm

        I’ve been to Recruits the past couple of years, and have seen Jamie and his Dad (can’t remember his dad’s name) both times. Do you know those guys? Great to play with.

        I’ll send you an email with my contact information. It’s not a big deal for me to make it over to Tulsa, and it’s a good excuse to go by The Last Hussar.

  • daggerandbrush  On 09/27/2016 at 4:05 pm

    These chaps, too, turned out very well. Really like your new photo setup, adds that certain epicness.

    • arkiegamer  On 09/27/2016 at 4:11 pm

      Thanks!

      I’m thinking about doing a 6′ x 4′ gaming board out of polystyrene. I’d really dress it up to the 9s with naturalistic terrain, so that it would serve well as a photo setup and gaming piece. It might be tough to light it adequately for photography, though. And then there’s the storage space vs. usefulness equation.

      • daggerandbrush  On 09/27/2016 at 4:57 pm

        I would take photos of it outside on a slightly overcast day. Nothing beats daylight for soem even and natural (duh!) lighting. Did you consider a modular setup of 30cm by 30cm pieces, similar to the one I wrote about some months ago?

  • arkiegamer  On 09/27/2016 at 5:03 pm

    Overcast days would be perfect. Good idea!

    I have been considering a modular board, but I have my drop cloth terrain for flexibility. This project is/would be more about doing something really custom and particular. I have sketches of a half dozen layouts.

  • Rogério Macedo  On 01/04/2017 at 11:32 am

    Marvellously painted minitures. Your work is inspired and inspiring!! Cheers!

You know what to do

