Recruits: There and Back Again

My second Recruits convention in Lee’s Summit is in the books. I had a great time, though next year I’m going to make some changes so that I get to play more than two games!

I saw some old friends and acquaintances, made some new ones, AND all my games were victorious. Difficult to beat that combination. On the downside, I spent waaaay too much money, but we’ll just ignore that part.

I apologize for these photographs-they were all taken on my phone, because I was stupid and forgot my camera at the hotel. Also, I did a poor job as a correspondent, and pretty much only photographed games I was involved in.

Recruits at 8:30 AM

Recruits at 8:30 AM

7-Years War Flats

7-Years War Flats

Beautiful flats

Beautiful flats

Undead mammoths! (Dragon Rampant/Lion Rampant)

Undead mammoths! (Dragon Rampant/Lion Rampant)

Fierce Woodland Indians

Fierce Woodland Indians

Fierce Puritans

Fierce Puritans

Made it to the woods-line.

Made it to the woods-line.

Fantastic terrain.

Beautiful terrain.

Excellent terrain.

Teddy bear fur and sticks.

Brigadier Patterson. A FANTASTIC leader of men.

Played a game of Regimental Fire and Fury, based on a portion of Williamsburg. I sat down behind this guy: Brigadier Patterson. A FANTASTIC leader of men. That’s sarcasm. He was rated poor, and with the exception of one trained unit, all his regiments were green. Conservative defensive play saw us through, though, and Patterson’s boys managed to inflict double the casualties (7 to 3) on the Sesh scum.

Williamsburg

Patterson’s brigade covers the right flank of the battle. Fortunately there’s a nice swamp to anchor against.

Williamsburg

Williamsburg

Williamsburg

Soon-to-be-repulsed Rebs charge one of Patterson’s regiments.

Williamsburg

Action in the center

Williamsburg

Here they come again, boys!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • lentonist  On 09/14/2015 at 3:07 pm

    I like the flats! Not a kind of figures I’ve had any dealing with before. Are they made out of wood?

    • arkiegamer  On 09/14/2015 at 3:40 pm

      I think they’re super cool, too. I believe they’re laser cut, and (of course) then hand painted.

  • tinpotrevolutionary  On 09/14/2015 at 4:09 pm

    I thought I’d seen those tree lines before:
    http://cluckamok.blogspot.co.uk/
    Glad you had a good time at the convention, and victories to boot!! I’m looking forward to going to a local convention myself in a few weeks (budget willing) I usually go to several each year but empty pockets and a broken leg have foiled me this year!!?

    • arkiegamer  On 09/14/2015 at 4:11 pm

      Yes, indeed, that is Chris’s lovely terrain (and figures). I played in his game last year, and was more than happy to do so again.

      My pockets are empty after the convention, but the legs are intact!

      • tinpotrevolutionary  On 09/14/2015 at 4:17 pm

        I thought it was a brilliant idea to simply have tree trunks without the tree tops to make moving stuff around easier and still give the impression of woods, I hear you have bloody big trees over that side of the pond ;)

        You’ve obviously not been messing about with electronic bulls… wise chap that you are! :)

      • arkiegamer  On 09/14/2015 at 4:23 pm

        Yes, that was a brilliant idea. Makes for excellent photographs, as well! You should see the handouts he makes for the game (This Very Ground). They look two or three times better than most ‘professionally’ produced QRSs you find in in rules sets. It’s really quite the production!

        Maybe I’m just really GOOD at riding mechanical bulls :)

      • tinpotrevolutionary  On 09/14/2015 at 4:32 pm

        Ha! :) Where I come from riding cows is considered a bloody silly idea and were it not for peer pressure from my girlfriend and her family I would have held true to that axiom (What we do for our womenfolk!!?)

      • arkiegamer  On 09/14/2015 at 4:37 pm

        I’d like to state for the record that, in reality, I’ve never ridden a cow or bull, mechanical, or otherwise. Nor have I ever tipped a cow (another quaint (and mythical) rural American custom).

        You should be able to milk your leg injury for sympathy from girlfriend and family for at least a decade, if you play your cards right. Unless they just pointed and laughed.

      • tinpotrevolutionary  On 09/14/2015 at 4:45 pm

        I thought bull riding was part of the high school curriculum, along with fast-drawing a colt and walking through those swing doors they have in saloons… Maybe my fascination with John Wayne movies has skewed my view!?

        You should have seen how guilty they felt after taking the micky out of me for making a meal out of it (we didn’t realise I’d broken it till the next day and Id been walking around on it)

      • arkiegamer  On 09/14/2015 at 4:52 pm

        No-that was the “good” old days! That said, there was a school near the town I grew up in that had a week long holiday for deer hunting season.

        It must be that famous British stiff upper lip that let you walk around on a broken leg!

      • tinpotrevolutionary  On 09/14/2015 at 5:01 pm

        It most certainly was, stiff upper lip keeping is taught at our schools, along with the proper way to make tea and our foreign language classes consist of speaking loudly and slowly to make ourselves clear to ‘Johnny Foreigner’ ;)

      • arkiegamer  On 09/14/2015 at 5:18 pm

        Ha!

  • daggerandbrush  On 09/14/2015 at 5:58 pm

    Thank you for the report. Looks like an excellent event. Really strikes me what wonderful results one can achieve with the fur method. Those flats are really cool. Might eb something to get your kids into it, too. Hard wearing, easy to paint and still passes as toy due to its size and design.

    • arkiegamer  On 09/14/2015 at 6:02 pm

      I’ve almost bought teddy bear fur a number of times, but haven’t pulled the trigger, yet. I love those flats-so colorful and full of character. And, yes, there were lots (for a wargaming convention) of kids playing. The rules involved trying to bowl the figures over :)

      • daggerandbrush  On 09/14/2015 at 6:19 pm

        Well, that really harks back to the H. G. Wells approach. The only thing with the fur is the mess it produces when you cut it. That could lead to some problems in small apartment ;).

  • Chris Cluckey  On 09/15/2015 at 12:30 am

    Hey! Thanks for the kind words and hope you had a good time in the wilds of 18th Century Pennsylvania : )

    Bests,
    Chris

    • arkiegamer  On 09/15/2015 at 6:28 am

      Hi Chris,

      You’re welcome, and you bet I did! See you next year.

You know what to do

