Stuff!

Hello dear readers and clickers and clickers and readers, it’s been awhile!

It’s a rare occurrence these days, but recently I found myself in the mood to paint some 15mm Confederates. I though I should take advantage of the mood swing, and spent my energies on command stands. I still have high hopes of getting to my stated goal of 100 infantry stands…but command stands don’t count. Not very productive of me, after all! Those 100 stands? They were to have been completed by the end of 2014. It’s nearly April!

I painted these command stands to give me more flexibility for historical scenarios. It's common to find regiments of only 4-6 stands in many scenarios (we use 10 as our normal regiment size), so the spares will come in handy.

I painted these command stands to give me more flexibility for historical scenarios. It’s common to find regiments of only 4-6 stands in many scenarios (we use 10 as our normal regiment size), so the spares will come in handy. I went a little overboard with the reds. By the way, these stands are a mix of Blue Moon and AB figures. From left to right, they are Blue Moon, AB, Blue Moon, Blue Moon, and AB. Might prove useful for ACW 15mm shoppers.

Upon occasion, I paint a few fantasy figures. I never put them up here, because my original intent was to keep this blog strictly historical. I’ve been rethinking that decision, because the blog I DID set up for fantasy is sadly neglected (by me), and has had roughly 3 views in 2 years.  Is there any interest in looking at the occasional elf frolicking through the forest, or troll rending flesh from bone? Should I bring all of my projects under one electronic roof?

I just finished painting up these six goblins from Tres Manor’s excellent range over at Redbox Games. These little guys have tons of character-my favorites are the rude fellow flipping the bird, and the murderous goblin sticking his tongue out while he wields his spear two-handed.

I was going for an orange skin tone on these guys, but maybe they just look like they’ve used too much self-tanner? If skulking around in dungeons doesn’t work out for them, maybe they can get a job with the E! Network.

Redcap forest goblins, from Redbox Games

Redcap forest goblins, from Redbox Games

I guess you could gall it the g-nome project.

Gobbos attack! Wigmund the Lanky and Grump the Dwarf defend. All of these figures are Redbox Games. I’m not capable of doing them justice. They’re wonderful sculpts.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • 40kterminatus  On 03/28/2015 at 1:09 am

    I like the goblins,the wooden shields are especially well done😀

  • cptshandy  On 03/28/2015 at 3:42 am

    Great work! And I’d like it if you brought all your projects under one electronic roof… I don’t think making a dramatic divide between historical and fantasy/sci fi wargaming makes sense. I game both and enjoy each for what it is.

    • arkiegamer  On 03/28/2015 at 8:29 pm

      Thank you, and thanks for the feedback! I’m sure I will fold it all in together in a tasty wargaming omelet.

  • Frank  On 03/28/2015 at 2:59 pm

    I second cptshandy’s remark: bring it all to one blog. Life’s too short. I admire your skill and productivity! I’m on the verge of finishing another Confederate regiment and starting a Federal one – if/when you make it down here, we might be able to have a respectable game!

    • arkiegamer  On 03/28/2015 at 8:28 pm

      Thanks, Frank! Glad you’re making progress on your own projects. I look forward to trying out the 1 Hour rules, or the ACW rules you printed out for me.

  • daggerandbrush  On 04/08/2015 at 11:28 pm

    I love Goblins and you did a cracking job on those! Red instead of green as skintone works very well and you emphasised the character of each of them. The basing is very beautiful and does look like forested hills. No I feel the urge to paint some of my Confrontation Gobbos…

    • arkiegamer  On 04/09/2015 at 6:57 am

      Thanks, man! I’d love to see your goblins-it would be a real treat.

  • tinpotrevolutionary  On 04/11/2015 at 6:55 am

    I had no idea how many blogs you had! These goblins look great especially like the one that appears to be ‘flipping the bird’! :)

    • arkiegamer  On 04/11/2015 at 7:02 am

      Yes – I need to cull the blogs. It’s hard enough keeping up with one!

      The bird flipper is my favorite, too. Closely followed by Gene Simmons with a spear.

You know what to do

