I’ll Grant You That…

I have just set a new landspeed record for altering New Year’s plans, having diverged from mine before the new year has even started! The Scarlet J has lured me into cranking out a few MicroArmor (1/285 scale) tanks for some upcoming North Africa, armor-centric gaming.  If nothing else, these little guys provide a nice palette cleanser from having been painting 28mm Napoleonics for the last month.

Advancing Grants

Advancing Grants

The Scarlet J is going to be fielding portions of the Afrika Corps, while my force will be loosely based on elements of the 8th Armoured Brigade, 10th Armoured Division around the time of the Second Battle of El Alamein. I hope I spelled El Alamein correctly, for once. The core of the force will be Sherman Is of the Nottinghamshire Yeomenry, but in my typical bass-ackwards way, I’ve started out with a platoon of Grants from their buddies in the 3rd Royal Tanks.

The view from a bold Storch?

The view from a bold, low-flying, Storch?

I have yet to decide if I’ll be attempting to add squadron, regiment, and divisional markings. I have decals for the squadron markings, so that wouldn’t be too tough, but things could go VERY badly trying to free-hand the other stuff.

Parting shot (sorry for the pun)

Parting shot (sorry for the pun). I really did a poor job of cleaning up the turrets.

As is typical for my microarmor painting, I more or less follow the method outlined in the excellent Fritzkrieg tutorial. I think his method produces a decent result, in a modest amount of time. I think I have around 3 hours into these 5 tanks, not counting drying time. Maybe less.

I have a pair of 6lber AT guns, scout cars, a few Crusaders, and then the main body of the force, 10 Sherman tanks, yet to paint. Oh, and I’ll need to make a desert gaming mat. And I ordered a few buildings. Yep. Seriously off the rails, here in Arkiegamer land.

I still don’t know the name of the rules we’re using. Something ancient (that means anything pre-1984) from TSJ’s archives of rules, but he assures me they’re fast and fun.

Addendum:

This Wikipedia article has a TO&E for 8th Armoured Brigade during the attack on the Mareth line in Tunisia. Apparently the Sherwood Rangers had Grants, Shermans, AND Crusaders during this operation, as well as an attached company of infantry from The Buffs. Which is way cool.

Addendum 2:

Great information from The Miniatures Page. Note to self: grab a copy of Bevis. Eschew Butthead.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • General Whiskers  On 12/31/2014 at 3:09 pm

    Thanks for the link for painting tips. I still have a load of 1939 Polish Campaign GHQ stuff to get ready. This will geca useful resource.

  • General Whiskers  On 12/31/2014 at 3:09 pm

    Geca? Should read “be a”

  • 40kterminatus  On 12/31/2014 at 5:57 pm

    You need a queen of the battle field for desert warfare only because I love them. Nice looking tanks and done in super quick time😉

    • arkiegamer  On 12/31/2014 at 10:52 pm

      Man, I would love to field some Matildas. Technically they were out of service by the period we’re covering (post 2nd Alamein to Tunisia). I don’t think the history police would haul me to jail if I deployed a platoon of them, though.

      • 40kterminatus  On 01/01/2015 at 1:42 am

        Sneak one in as a command vehicle😛

      • arkiegamer  On 01/01/2015 at 11:04 am

        I will!

  • dave2718  On 12/31/2014 at 7:27 pm

    Grants win the coolest looking crap tank award and you made them look really nice. I do enjoy a bit of zooming around North Africa

    • arkiegamer  On 12/31/2014 at 10:53 pm

      Ha, yes, I love those ungainly beasts! I get way more excited about painting the weird and not-so-effective allied tanks and quirky armored cars than I do Shermans.

  • Frank Arey  On 01/01/2015 at 12:48 am

    Is the Scarlet J going to foist some Wargames Research Group rules on you? If so, I have those, and kinda like them. I’m eager to hear more.

    • arkiegamer  On 01/01/2015 at 11:03 am

      I think they’re some sort of adaptation of a board game. I just can’t recall the name of it! I’ll report back after I see him next.

  • daggerandbrush  On 01/01/2015 at 2:43 am

    Always amazed at the detail of those small tanks. Your paintjob brought out the detail nicely and I think the look really good in the close-ups.

    • arkiegamer  On 01/01/2015 at 11:04 am

      Thanks! These little tanks ARE amazing. They must work with a microscope when making the masters.

You know what to do

