Neat! David Neat.

David Neat’s blog is the best site on model making. Period.

David Neat is a teacher, designer, and maker for movie and theater set design. He builds incredible scale mock-ups, which range from the abstract (as seen below) to the hyper-realistic. Much of it is too fine of a level of detail for wargaming, but the methodology behind the work has broad application. The sections of materials and casting are particularly impressive. Neat also has a book, and I suspect it’s well worth the money.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • kaiserbill  On 11/17/2014 at 10:40 am

    Thank you for posting this.
    I will give it a look (maybe two, or three…..)

    • arkiegamer  On 11/17/2014 at 10:44 am

      You are quite welcome. You could spend many hours there, reading the articles :)

  • 40kterminatus  On 11/17/2014 at 1:20 pm

    Quality find. I have been reading the stuff on the moulding which is excellent :) Must read some more, back shortly.

  • daggerandbrush  On 11/18/2014 at 6:47 am

    Excellent find. I’ll need to take a day off and let it all sink in. Superb stuff and very inspirational. Lets see if I can find this fabled Kapa stuff.

    • arkiegamer  On 11/18/2014 at 8:31 am

      I thought you might enjoy this link. :)

      I’ve been trying to find Palight brand foamed PVC, myself. No luck, so far, but I haven’t given it a really good effort, yet.

      • daggerandbrush  On 11/18/2014 at 11:03 pm

        Seems I am out of luck in NZ. I ponder odering some from overseas, but that might get expensive…let’s see if I can find some foam baord that has Polyurethane foam in it, that seems to be the main point why that stuff is so good.

    • arkiegamer  On 11/19/2014 at 1:11 pm

      I haven’t had any luck finding Palight OR Kapa-line foam board. Very disappointing. The textures he gets with that Kapa foam are extremely convincing.

You know what to do

