I Never Promised You a Rose Garden

But I do have this recently completed generic 11 (don’t ask) stand Confederate infantry regiment adorned with some ridiculously expensive and out-of-scale wildflowers from Army Painter.

IMG_1677

(Apologies for the iPhone photos-I’m posting from the mobile app on my phone, too, so this is likely to be a sub-par post, even by my low standards)

IMG_1678
With these fellows complete, I’m at 80 infantry stands for my Confederates. That’s 240 figures! Two-four-tee!! I know that’s not many figures to you old hands (particularly you napoleonic gamers) but I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself, nonetheless.

I started this ACW project in December of last year, and I think I’m going to shoot for an even hundred infantry bases by that time this year. Then I’m calling the Confederate side of this project complete.

Or sort of complete.

There are always things to add. For example, I don’t have any 6 pounders, I have no ammunition re-supply wagon, and I don’t have a hospital wagon to mark High Casualties. Come to think of it, I could use a couple more disorder markers. And I really need to paint up a couple dozen stands of dismounted mounted rifles so The Scarlet J and I can game the Battle of Iuka.

Of course, I never would have gotten to THIS point, were it not for a generous gift of Nicely painted transcontinental Danish Confederates from my friend Thomas.

-Sigh-

Maybe there’s hope for December 2015?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Frank Arey  On 10/14/2014 at 8:22 pm

    Hey – congrats, and good to see you’re still around! I counted my Civil War project figures the other day, and I’m at 106 painted and based, 53 figures per side. So I reckon you’re doing pretty good.

    • arkiegamer  On 10/15/2014 at 8:19 am

      I am! 106 painted and based is great-If I subtract my Danish Texans I’ve only painted 150 infantry figures in a year’s time.

  • daggerandbrush  On 10/14/2014 at 9:56 pm

    Very nice choice of colours, adding a lot of variety and making them appear somewhat irregular. The basing is subtle, but frames the miniatures perfectly. Conclusion: Smashing unit :).

    • arkiegamer  On 10/15/2014 at 8:24 am

      Thanks! I was going for a very rag-tag irregular appearance for these guys. They could easily pass for some of the forces operating in Missouri and Arkansas early in the war, or maybe as hard campaigners.

  • Russ Pennington  On 10/15/2014 at 8:17 am

    What rules are you using?

    • arkiegamer  On 10/15/2014 at 8:21 am

      We use Regimental Fire and Fury. I enjoy the rules, although I kind of hate using a single die for all random number generation-a little too ‘swingy’ in the results, for me. I wish more wargames rules used a die-rolling scheme that produced a bell curve. You’d still have the thrill (and agony) of outlying random results, with a little more predictability around the middle.

  • mellis1644  On 10/15/2014 at 12:46 pm

    Great looking troops and nice work on the figs. I’d even say the flower are not that out of scale. I suggest you have a go at Longstreet at some point. It makes for an interesting and very different style game.

    • arkiegamer  On 10/15/2014 at 12:50 pm

      Thank you, sir! I own Longstreet, and do plan to give it a try at some point. Convincing my regular opponent to read the rules is the main hold-up.

      We had actually made a go at using the Longstreet campaign rules with Regimental Fire and Fury as the tactical system, and it worked ok. Of course, there are a number of items on the Longstreet campaig cards that don’t have an easy analog in RF&F.

  • kaiserbill  On 10/16/2014 at 2:28 pm

    Wonderful unit indeed. As for the over-sized flowery tufts , I’m using the-made by me- 2mm grass tufts with flowers on top. Next week I will post at my blog the latest commission I’ve painted, of 15mm Renaissance Ottomans, so you will see how it looks.

    • arkiegamer  On 10/17/2014 at 7:53 am

      I will keep an eye out for that! The flowers on your 28s look excellent. Any chance of a tutorial on how you make them, or is it a trade secret?

      • kaiserbill  On 10/21/2014 at 7:55 am

        No problem with telling although the method is the one used by everyone else.I will make some pics an post them shortly.
        Andreas

      • arkiegamer  On 10/21/2014 at 8:17 am

        Hi Andreas,

        No worries about a tutorial-I can search around on the internet. Somehow it never crossed my mind to make your own flowers, though it should have been rather obvious!

Trackbacks

You know what to do

