Press on, Press on!

The Scarlet J and I (or is that me?) played our third or fourth game of Regimental Fire and Fury this weekend. SJ set up the scenario, which was a modified meeting engagement, somewhere in Kentucky. The Confederates (me!) arrived on the field with two small brigades (six regiments of infantry, total), and two batteries of two guns, each. The Union had one large brigade, arriving with four regiments of infantry and a three gun battery, with an increasing chance of further reinforcement beginning on turn four.

Command and control was to play a huge part in this game, and the Confederates had the advantage here, with two brigadiers on the field, plus a divisional commander. The Union fielded only one brigadier general. In general, the Confederates were able to perform the maneuvers they wanted to perform, when they wanted to perform them. The Union forces were often operating under ‘tardy orders,’ which is, essentially, a half move. I think this forced the Union side to adapt an extremely passive defense, and ultimately, I was able to roll up their right flank, and drive the Yankees from the field before their reinforcements were able to make it into action.

Anywho, I forgot my camera at home, which irks me to no end, so here are some crappy iPhone pictures. The color is all over the place. Someday, I’ll take my time, keep notes, tag my photos, and do a real AAR.

The Arkansas Brigade enters along some lonely Kentucky highway.

The Arkansas Brigade enters along some lonely Kentucky highway.

The crossroads this little fracas was fought over.

The crossroads this little fracas was fought over. Did I mention that I kept a regiment in reserve, and never even had to commit it? I was rolling dice well.

By the way, the darker post and rail fence in the upper right-hand corner of the crossroads was bought by the Scarlet J. I think it’s about $20 for 6 feet of fence, and they’re made by a disabled veteran. They’re pretty nice! Let me know if you’d like some, and I’ll see about getting you some contact information.

The climactic moment of the battle (turn 4). Hold in the center/right, and give them hell on the left was the general idea.

The climactic moment of the battle (turn 4). Tillman’s brigade of Arkansas troops was to hold in the center/right, while Nisviksen’s Danes gave them hell on the left.

The Danish Texans, under Brigadier Nisviksen bravely assault the Yankee right flank.

The Danish Texans, under Brigadier Nisviksen bravely assault the Yankee right flank.

The veterans of the (Danish) 13th Texas prepare to drive three Yankee rifles from the hill.

The veterans of the (Danish) 13th Texas prepare to drive three Yankee rifles from the hill.

Rolling up the Yank right flank.

Rolling up the Yank right flank.

We drove the unsupported northern battery from the field with musketry, which unhinged the Yankee position. The lone Yank infantry regiment on that side of the field was eliminated through a combination of withering rifle fire and a timely bayonet charge. The Scarlet J conceded soon after.

I think we are going to play this scenario again, but I’ll be defending, under similar constraints, with my Confederates. No doubt it’s a tough position for the defender to be in, but having soundly whipped the Yanks on the offensive side, I have developed some ideas about how to do it as the defender.*

We have fields now, thanks to an old corduroy coat that was in my closet for far too long.

A beauty shot looking back on the battlefield from my extreme right flank. We have fields now, thanks to an old corduroy coat that was in my closet for far too long. We need another 20′ of fence, another dozen fields, and a couple hundred more trees, and then our game mat will start to look pretty good. *weeps inconsolably*

We had quite a few people come by our position in the gaming store, oohing and aahing over the table. I don’t know if we’ll garner any new historical miniatures wargamers out of it, but exposing people to the hobby can’t hurt.

*I’m only talking trash in case the Scarlet J happens to read this. Psychological warfare!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Frank Arey  On 02/17/2014 at 4:13 pm

    Neat stuff, Tim.

    • arkiegamer  On 02/17/2014 at 4:22 pm

      Thanks, Frank. We need to get you up here to command a brigade, at some point.

      Four plays in, I _think_ we’ve just about got all of the rules down.

You know what to do

