Pip, pip.

It is done!

I have both ‘core’ sides for British vs. German conflicts using IABSM v3 in Normandy. Basically this means a company of infantry each, plus 10 Shermans (including a pair of Fireflies), five Stugs, and a couple of Pak 40 ATGs. I suspect I may be fielding Shermans that didn’t exist in the immediate aftermath of the Normandy invasion, but I won’t tell, if you don’t.

Here are some shots of my freshly painted and based Brits, as the German side has been well documented here.

Somewhere in there is a company of British infantry and 10 Sherman tanks.

Somewhere in there is a company of British infantry and 10 Sherman tanks.

Platoon, forward! I'll probably end up color coding the bases, at some point, to make identifying units easier. Let's face it, 6mm WWII infantry are pretty difficult to identify from more than a few inches away.

Platoon, forward! I’ll probably end up color coding the bases, at some point, to make identifying units easier. Let’s face it, 6mm WWII infantry are pretty difficult to identify from more than a few inches away.

Droopy barrels are a hazard of 1/285 armor. If I were less lazy, I'd replace them with brass. But I'm not.

Droopy barrels are a hazard of 1/285 armor. If I were less lazy, I’d replace them with brass. But I’m not.

Badly lit Shermans. Ironic, for the disparagingly named Ronsons, eh?

Badly lit Shermans. Ironic, for the disparagingly named Ronsons, eh? I went  a little wild with the decals on that Firefly in front of the manorhouse.

Now all I need to do is learn the rules and shanghai some of my friends into playing.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • daggerandbrush  On 02/11/2014 at 10:38 pm

    They turned out very nice! I also like the photo arrangement, gives a good idea that you can actually depict some more realistic fighting distances in this scale.

    • arkiegamer  On 02/12/2014 at 5:23 am

      Thanks. Yes, that’s one of the coolest things about the scale! This board is compressed by about 25% from the size recommended in the scenario, but it still feels like there’s room to maneuver and the density of figures feels about right.

  • Thomas Nielsen  On 02/12/2014 at 2:24 am

    Woooaaah!!!! Daaaamn that looks cool! I wanna play with you! Will be in New York next week – can we arrange something ;-) Haha!

    • arkiegamer  On 02/12/2014 at 5:27 am

      I wish, Thomas! I love NYC, but I don’t think my terrain board would fit in the overhead compartment of an airplane. And by the time I payed for gas for my car, a hotel, and (most importantly) parking, I wouldn’t be able to buy any figures for the next two years!

      More seriously, have you been to the Compleat Strategist in Manhattan? If you get a chance, swing by and check it out. It’s one of the best game stores in the United States. I’m not sure if they stock any 20mm figures, but, if nothing else, they have a great selection of Osprey reference books.They’re at 11 E 33rd Street.

      • Thomas Nielsen  On 02/13/2014 at 10:42 am

        Thanks man! I will check the store if I get the time, I am supposed to be on a business trip, so I am not sure if they let me away ;-)

      • arkiegamer  On 02/13/2014 at 11:26 am

        Have a good trip!

  • tinpotrevolutionary  On 02/12/2014 at 11:32 am

    Watch out the tommies are coming!! Well done sir! Better get a brew on the go, take it from me that we brits always fight harder with a cuppa tea in our bellies! ;)

    • arkiegamer  On 02/12/2014 at 11:56 am

      Thank you, thank you, sir. I recently read “Brazen Chariots,” a memoir of a British tanker in the desert theater, so I’m well aware of tea’s supreme importance as a lubricant for the UK war machine. :)

You know what to do

