The 2nd Arkie

It’s a bit of an Arkiegamerapalooza around here, with two posts in one weekend.

I’ve finished my second regiment of Confederate infantry-these guys are (obviously) in a marching pose. I’ve also pimped my bases with kitty litter boulders and stones. I think they might be a bit much-most of these battles occurred in pastures and cultivated fields, after all. As an aside, nothing soaks up a wash like kitty litter. I suppose that’s a rather obvious point.

All figures are AB.

I must now face the sad fact that there’s no way I’m finishing four regiments by the end of November.

In a bold painting leap, I've begun to add facial hair to some of my figures.

In a bold painting leap, I’ve begun to add facial hair to some of my figures, even when it’s not sculpted. In the very near future, I plan to move beyond the Tom Selleck mustache to some truly outrageous 19th century beards.

Note the strategically placed coffee mug I acquired from the battlefield down the road?

Note the strategically placed coffee mug I acquired from the battlefield down the road?

This would be an extended line formation, in Regimental Fire and Fury. At least I think that's what it's called.

This would be an extended line formation, in Regimental Fire and Fury. At least I think that’s what it’s called.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Paul Wisken  On 11/17/2013 at 7:41 am

    Just make sure that the beards you paint don’t look like some of those in the movie “Gettysburg” :-)

  • expressminiatures  On 11/18/2013 at 4:37 pm

    Smashing work! Nothing like a well painted AB miniature to get you up out of bed and to the painting desk. For the beards on 18mm, and this may be cheating, I like to brush on a black wash to the chin, cheeks and upper lip. It may not be a massive flowing neard but to me it looks like campaign stubble and about right.

    • arkiegamer  On 11/18/2013 at 4:45 pm

      Hi there, and thanks! That’s exactly what I’ve been doing for facial hair, actually. Except that I’m using a reddish brown wash instead of black.

      How did you know that I paint in the morning?! I have to get up at 5 am to get an hour of painting in before heading off to work. I am only able to do this because we have hungry (and impatient) dogs who don’t let one lay around in bed. No matter how much one may want to. Even on Sundays.

      • expressminiatures  On 11/18/2013 at 4:57 pm

        Ahh fantastic, I knew it wasn’t cheating. Painting in the morning is probably the only time I had as well until I took the decision to paint all day. It probably takes me a few dodgy faces to get going though as my mind desperately clings to sleep. Awesome blog I shall now distract myself by going from start to finish.

  • arkiegamer  On 11/18/2013 at 5:03 pm

    Well, I cribbed the technique from Mr. AB, himself (the link to Barton’s tutorial is under the creatively named “Painting Links” category on the left), so it’s definitely not cheating.

    I had a 3-dodgy-face morning today, myself. Sometimes it’s better, sometimes its worse.

    Enjoy the blog, it’s largely a tragedy composed of missteps and incomplete projects.

You know what to do

