Pea Ridge Visual Reference

I live a short distance from the Pea Ridge American Civil War National Battlefield and went there this morning to kick around and get myself inspired for the upcoming ACW wargaming hijinx.

The park is a great place to go for a hike or bike ride, as the the grounds cover hundreds of acres. Wildlife is abundant-usually you see dozens of whitetail deer. This trip a large variety of colorful butterflies took center stage. The prairie grasses, rolling landscape, and managed woodlands are all great environments to move through.

Anyway, there is a variety of split rail fencing to look at, various cannon, and the Elkhorn Tavern reconstruction, which I may try to scratch-build at some point. I thought I’d put together a small visual reference for the future.

Without further to-do, here are three types of split rail fence on display at Pea Ridge.

Split Rail Type 1

Split Rail Type 1

Split Rail Type 1

Split Rail Type 1

Split Rail Type 2

Split Rail Type 2

Split Rail Type 2

Split Rail Type 2

Split Rail Type 3

Split Rail Type 3

Gate connection. This may be totally ahistorical. It does, however, work.

Gate connection. This may be totally ahistorical. It does, however, work.

Gate Connection: Part Deux

Gate Connection: Part Deux

And here is the scene of the heaviest fighting-Elkhorn Tavern.

Elkhorn Tavern

Elkhorn Tavern

 

Elkhorn Tavern - West Elevation

Elkhorn Tavern – West Elevation

Elkhorn Tavern - South Elevation

Elkhorn Tavern – South Elevation

Elkhorn Tavern - East Elevation

Elkhorn Tavern – East Elevation

Elkhorn Tavern - North Elevation

Elkhorn Tavern – North Elevation

Elkhorn Tavern - Artist's Depiction (note the difference in the porch canopy compared to the photographs)

Elkhorn Tavern – Artist’s Depiction (note the difference in the porch canopy compared to the photographs and the lack of ground floor railing)

And last, but not least, some cannon, which I am too ignorant to identify. I do know (well, guess, really) that they are NOT 12 pound Napoleons.

I have no idea what sort of cannon this is. It's rifled. Its carriage is a deep olive green. Barrel is of brass. It has a flared muzzle.

I have no idea what sort of cannon this is. It’s rifled. Its carriage is a deep olive green. Barrel is of brass. It has a flared muzzle.

cannon2

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Karl  On 09/15/2013 at 4:12 pm

    Really nice pictures, great resource.
    What “Upcoming Civil War hijinx” or am I uninvited?

    • arkiegamer  On 09/15/2013 at 4:21 pm

      Thanks, Karl. Well, any Civil War hijinx are months away. I haven’t painted a single figure, yet! I guess keep watching here, and send me a message when it looks like things are getting close.

  • Len Sutphin  On 09/16/2013 at 9:19 am

    Thanks for the fence pictures. they are a big help. About how high are they?

    Len

    • arkiegamer  On 09/16/2013 at 9:24 am

      Hi Len, you’re welcome!

      I’d say the top cross pieces are at between 36″-42″, with the posts, where present, going up to maybe 60″-66″. It varies, though. The fences with the ‘teepee’ post structures are nearer 6′ tall, for example. The snake fences (not sure what they’re really called-Type 3 in my photos) are on the short end. I should have taken a measuring tape, but I didn’t think that far ahead.

  • Frank Arey  On 09/17/2013 at 12:37 pm

    Hey, ArkieGamer – its Frank the Arkie from TMP – thanks again for posting these. As I said on TMP, these are great sites to walk and study.

    • arkiegamer  On 09/17/2013 at 12:44 pm

      Hello again, Frank. My name is Tim, by the way. If you don’t mind me asking, what part of Arkansas are you in?

      There are quite a few gamers around that are into Warhammer, and the like, but I’ve only managed to meet a couple of guys here in Northwest Arkansas that are interested in historical miniatures.

      • Frank Arey  On 09/17/2013 at 7:26 pm

        I meant to add below – I’m in Little Rock.

    • arkiegamer  On 09/17/2013 at 1:15 pm

      I just saw your post on TMP. Sounds like we may need to get some sort of intrastate wargaming cross-pollination going at some point!

      I’m just (as in I haven’t painted a single figure, yet) getting started in 15mm ACW, and I know another fellow who is a long-term historical miniatures wargamer, and has a substantial collection in that period.

      I noticed on your TMP profile that you also enjoy Napoleonics, and that’s something that I’d like to get into proper one day. I’ve painted a couple dozen 1/72 plastic figures, intending to someday play Sharp Practice, but that’s a long way from proper Napoleonics!

      • Frank Arey  On 09/17/2013 at 7:21 pm

        Its Tim, right? For lack of serious gaming opposition, in the past few years I’ve had a handful of Civil War games using simple “Junior General” rules and 1/72d Italieri figures. My youngest daughter enjoyed it, and so has a nephew – the rules were the right speed for them, and it was fun. Like you, I have a number of boxes of 1/72d Napoleonics – hard plastic stuff by Zvezda, Italieri, etc. – that works primarily for the 1813-15 time frame. I haven’t settled on a set of rules, but I like Charles Grant’s Waterloo rules, as well as Neil Thomas’ simple Napoleonic rules. I’m also dabbling in molding and painting Prince August 25mm figures. Again, these are best suited for 1813-15, and I probably will use Grant’s Waterloo rules with these (albeit with smaller sized units). Finally, I’ve been slowly painting Musket Miniatures 15mm Civil War figures. I’ve actually finished one battalion – a Marine landing force – so I’m not far ahead of you! Neil Thomas has a simple set of Civil War rules I want to use with these. That may be more than you wanted to know! My wife thinks I need to pick a project and stay on it – she’s right, of course. My painting style is old school – no dips or shading here, don’t do eyes and buttons and thin piping – just the basics, so it looks good from two or three feet away. I was born in Fayetteville, and love the area. If you want to try a game sometime, and we can settle on rules and muster enough units, well – I’m open to negotiations! Frank

        Date: Tue, 17 Sep 2013 18:15:51 +0000 To: dewellfa@hotmail.com

  • Ryan Toews  On 09/17/2013 at 8:57 pm

    Hello Tim,

    I spent some time going through your blog and it looks like you have a number of different projects on the go. My primary interest is ACW gaming and, as I mentioned on TMP, I’ll be down in NW Arkansas this mid-October. With this comment you have my e-mail if you want to contact me directly. I think I have a few sources on the ACW in your area that you may find of interest and I know I have a few questions to ask in exchange.

    Ryan Toews

You know what to do

